speedsitetarget.blogg.se

If i purchase a steam game for mac can i also play it on pc
If i purchase a steam game for mac can i also play it on pc













if i purchase a steam game for mac can i also play it on pc
  1. #IF I PURCHASE A STEAM GAME FOR MAC CAN I ALSO PLAY IT ON PC INSTALL#
  2. #IF I PURCHASE A STEAM GAME FOR MAC CAN I ALSO PLAY IT ON PC FULL#
  3. #IF I PURCHASE A STEAM GAME FOR MAC CAN I ALSO PLAY IT ON PC CODE#
  4. #IF I PURCHASE A STEAM GAME FOR MAC CAN I ALSO PLAY IT ON PC WINDOWS 7#

Ideally, the hosting machine would need to be powerful enough to play the game and to encode the stream simultaneously.

#IF I PURCHASE A STEAM GAME FOR MAC CAN I ALSO PLAY IT ON PC INSTALL#

For example, if your chosen game uses Punkbuster, you will be prompted to install it.Does the hosting machine need powerful graphics or would a headless Xeon PC server work well? I ask as I am looking at getting one anyway to host opensim and that only being a database doesn't require much in the way of a GPU the graphics being handled by the client viewer. If Steam has never been run on this machine, you may have to go through some preliminary steps before you can launch your game.

if i purchase a steam game for mac can i also play it on pc

Steam will validate your new access point and you can move on to the next step. Select NEXT, then enter the code, and select NEXT again.

#IF I PURCHASE A STEAM GAME FOR MAC CAN I ALSO PLAY IT ON PC CODE#

Now go to your email box, and copy or memorize the code they have sent you. First, you'll see the text box asking for the code. This is intended to prevent some haxor from accessing and using your account. When using Steam on a new machine, you'll be prompted to enter a code sent to that email address by Steam for security purposes. If you want to use your saved games and profiles, you'll need to copy and paste your individual game folders into the My Games folder on the system drive of the system you are using.Īfter you have moved these game saves, simply go to your Steam folder and launch the application.Īt this point, you'll need access to the email account that Steam uses to communicate with you.

#IF I PURCHASE A STEAM GAME FOR MAC CAN I ALSO PLAY IT ON PC FULL#

So don't expect to play Crysis: Warhead at full resolution on your parent's old 486 DX2 machine.Īt this point you could start gaming but it would be gaming from scratch so to speak. Keep in mind that your gaming experience will be determined by the PC or laptop that you intend to use. You are now completely mobile with your Steam library. If you do not wish to take saved games or player profiles with you, skip this step. Some games may differ in where they save the game saves and player profiles so you may need to find them manually if they do not use the My Games folder. If you want to take your saved games and player profiles with you, you'll need to copy this folder to your USB flash drive also. By default, Crysis: Warhead creates a game folder for game saves and profile information in the Documents/My Games folder. Copy and paste this entire folder to your USB flash drive as seen below. If you have installed it to a secondary drive, you'll need to navigate to that drive and find your Steam folder there.

#IF I PURCHASE A STEAM GAME FOR MAC CAN I ALSO PLAY IT ON PC WINDOWS 7#

If you have done a standard Steam install, this folder is located in your C: drive C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam in my example using Windows 7 64bit. With that, let's get to the gaming.įirst, you'll need to copy your primary Steam folder to your flash drive. In this example I have used the 64GB Survivor Stealth and the 128GB Flash Voyager GT. Also, you'll obviously need a drive with the capacity to carry your Steam folder around. In my testing, I had no issues using the Flash Voyager GT 3.0 or the Flash Survivor Stealth 3.0 and it was fast and painless. If your USB drive is a slow drive, you may have issues playing the more graphically demanding games and this process will take a while. Ideally, you'll want a fast flash drive which is why I have chosen to do this with our fastest USB 3.0 drives. It's also great to have a pocket sized backup for emergencies if you find yourself out and about without your laptop. With just a tiny bit of simple copying and pasting, you can take your Steam folder and all your game saves with you and be fully mobile without the need to carry a PC or laptop around. If you have ever tried it, you know that Steam will not allow installation to a USB flash drive. If you have a nice large flash drive, like a Flash Survivor® Stealth USB 3.0 or Flash Voyager® GT USB 3.0 then you have a solution that will fit into your shirt pocket! I also remember thinking that it sure would be nice to have access to a computer and to my Steam account and be able to play my games. In the past, before I had a gaming capable laptop, I remember being marooned at a relatives house with nothing to do while people slept off their holiday meals. This reminded that I needed to plan ahead a bit if I intended to be a Survivor on my journeys. With the holiday season approaching, I started thinking about the fact that I will soon become a Voyager as I go to visit family and friends.















If i purchase a steam game for mac can i also play it on pc